2015! Trek 2

The second monsoon trek I did was to Matheran. Most people know the car route that leads to the hill station. I’d been there that way before. But this time, we trekked up the back of the hill station to a top called One Tree Hill and then to the station. And this time, unlike all the other times I’ve trekked, I trekked with a humongous group. Some 55 odd people. Between papa and me, we carried nothing more than two bottles of water, some chocolates, two caps and a tiny little rucksack. And the shoes on our feet.

It rained hell. And then it sun-ed hell. And we kept fluctuating between wet and dry and then wet again. The age group was varied, ranging from 8 to 55. Needless to say, the trek was easy. A little lengthy, but easy. The road was slippery, some waterfalls tried to challenge us but the view made everything worth it. Green, light green, dark green, leafy green, new leaf green, watermelon green, cabbage green, every green! Everywhere.

Needless to say, I made a few friends. Two boys who kept showing off all the places they’d trekked. And in one single ‘I’ve completed my one month long Basic Mountaineering Course with an A grade in the Himalayas’ I shut them up. Now I’m boasting.

Anyway this trek was beauty. I met so many people I had never met before, and met so many people from different walks of life. And we all walked this particular path together.

It took us two and a half hours of walking to get to one tree hill (not the TV series), and we never realized that we had walked that long. The mausam was just that suhaana.

We reached Matheran, ate each other’s dabbas and took a cab to the station to catch our train back to Thane.

Ye mausam ka jaadu hai mitwa!

Leave a Reply

